The runner’s cry

This one is in English. The words came to me this way. I hope you can understand and forgive me for this once in a blogtime. 

I had a new experience today, while running. The road was slippery, and whenever my feet hit solid, ice free ground, I speeded up and felt superpowerful. In the low November sun, nothing could stop my flow, not even the crossing lights downtown. I simply used those breaks to bump up my energetic running spirit, waiting, breathing, drumming heart longing for the green light that would let me take flight again. 

Ok, so this was the setting. 

Usually I run with a smile, an innocent grin, beaming at nature and buildings and busses and castles and men in suits and the ocean and rivers and bridges and pigeons and posters and kids in strollers and dogs walking their owners. I feel high. But today I even cried. Like a runner’s cry. Not like sobbing, nothing dramatic, no sound. Just a single tear silently running down my left cheek every now and then, making it strangely wet and hot in the cold, dry air. It was a happy tear. Like it was nothing and everything all at once. A sensation so raw and beautiful, a thereness. 

Did you ever go?
 

 

 

4 kommentarer

Siste innlegg